People living in large cities today face many problems in their everyday life. What are these problems? Should governments encourage people to move to smaller regional towns?

Citizens in major cities today confront numerous difficulties in their daily lives. Several problems have resulted from this tendency, and they should be tackled by a number of effective solutions from governments.

As more and more people are moving from the countryside or other countries to big cities in search of job opportunities, several related problems can be anticipated. The main issue is that more people mean more vehicles will be used and more greenhouse gas emissions will be released into the air. As a result, this will have a huge impact on the environment, particularly air pollution, which will lead to a wide range of diseases such as lung cancer, acute lower respiratory infections in children, etc. Another problem is that it will be more challenging to find an occupation because many people apply for the same position in the same company. Therefore, the unemployment rate will be higher, which poses a threat to society as many different, sophisticated types of crime will appear.

Since such issues are serious, the government should take steps immediately to address these problems. The first solution would be encouraging city residents to move to regional areas. Firstly, it will reduce the number of transportation in cities, which will definitely reduce the levels of air pollution, which is hazardous to the health of citizens. Furthermore, fewer people living in big cities will relieve the pressure on the housing supply, where many people are forced to live in small, uncomfortable spaces. Studies have shown that people’s living spaces have a direct impact on their mental health and how they perform at work.

In conclusion, city dwellers have already faced some damaging impacts on a daily basis, both on their personal and professional lives. Personally, I feel that authorities should encourage people to relocate to other areas to live.