Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To a certain extent, I agree that do some reading can have a more positive effect than watching TV or playing computer games for youngsters. However, I also think that children are so used to visual input - on TV, video games, and so on. There are plenty of kids who wouldn’t even try to read a book, moreover, I suppose childhood was meant to play and having fun.

There are two main reasons why I agree that reading books plays an important role in the child's development. One reason is that it can broaden their literacy horizons, they can know about everything in the world from the past to nowadays, about people from all walks of life. In the process of studying English, for example, kids may have better reading and writing skills when they have already read news, magazines, stories since they were little. Because of this, parents should spend a short amount of time every ngiht with children to telling them bedtime stories. It not only helps youngsters easily to sleep but also develop literacy appreciation towards reading. Furthermore, one of the great things about words is that they will have to use their imagination. This will eventually brings more benefits to kids in the future due to the fact they can solve difficult tasks quickly and smartly.

Apart from the practical merits expressed above, I believe that adolescents should play and have the happiest time rather than force them to study or do some tedious things. Firstly, playing computer games can also help solving problems and even blowing off some steam. Secondly, television brings the best comedians, musicians and actors into our home. Programs can be entertaining and enjoyable but at the same time, they can be informative and educational. For instance, new coverage makes the public aware of events around the world so it can widen their knowledge by watching them.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, I strongly believe that although reading stories from a book will gain a better understanding and awareness, childhood is still always the most innocent and playful time of a person. Therefore, we should not limit those precious moments.