Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

It is believed that zoos are all wicked places, and they should be shut down. Others argued that they can help support the protection of wild species. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and provide evidence as to why I am more inclined towards the latter.

On one hand, zoos keep animals in artificial environments. They are kept in cages or have limited space, and they also will lose the freedom to hunt for food. They will eventually rely on humans and will not be able to make a decision by themselves. Therefore, some people thought that zoos are unethical since zoos exhibit animals with the aim of making money. Not only this, if the prime reason of zoos is to protect animals, this could be done in other environments such as wildlife parks where the animals have more freedom.

On the other hand, zoos play an important role in wildlife conservation as they can help to protect endangered ones. Zoos allow scientists to study animals and their behaviour in order to understand them more and help them when they are hurt or in need of something. Moreover, zoos are educational yet interesting and fun at the same time. This seems the most effective way to give information to people about all kinds of faunas to encourage them to protect these creatures.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that it is better for wild animals to live in zoos due to the fact that it is more crucial to save the species that are at risk of extinction. However, people should make a zoo like a second home to them because humans have no right to use these animals for entertainment and profit.