People often think about creating an ideal society, but most of the times fail in making this happen. What is your opinion about an ideal society? How can we create an ideal society?

People often imagine building a perfect society, but they seldom succeed in doing so. Personally, I believe that an ideal society can never be created because it’s unrealistic.

Striving for an ideal society would benefit the individuals because they will not live better unless they learn to think better. To begin with, virtues such as courage, fairness, and respect are admirable character traits that everyone should try to pursue. If individuals can become better versions of themselves, then the whole community will surely become better. Take a criminal, for instance, he got caught and then sent to prison to punish him for what he has done. He will use his long sentence to reflect on his choices and his life, thus, when he is released, he will become a better man with morals and forgiveness.

While it’s beneficial for individuals to work on self-improvement, an ideal society can never be created or maintained. Firstly, people are selfish and will pursue their self-interest almost without thinking about anyone. To illustrate, neighbors can play music with high volume at night if they like, without thinking it will affect a lot of people mentally and physically. Secondly, individuals all have a tendency to win over someone when it comes to a competition. In professional sport, it has become increasingly common to use illegal substances in order to win at all costs.

In conclusion, it is good that some people think about creating a flawless, supreme society. However, that thought will hardly be achieved due to its impracticality. Instead, schools, governments, and communities should nevertheless encourage people to actively think and work on becoming better versions of themselves.