People in many countries are spending less time with their families. What are the reasons and effects of this?

Citizens in many nations are currently devoting less amount of time to family gatherings. This essay will pen down the causes and aftereffects of this phenomenon.

In terms of the running reasons behind this trend, the hectic pace of life and the addiction to social networking sites are the decisive factors. As for residing in a time when productivity and efficiency of work are of the top priority, a majority of employees have no choice but to channel all their spare time and efforts into meeting the deadlines of their tasks. Otherwise, they would be fired and there would be an overwhelming burden on their financial ability, even making them unable to afford the living expenses. Besides, some individuals are becoming highly addicted to social networking sites that they are stuck in the virtual world and suffer from a sense of social alienation. This could be derived from recent research conducted by the Ministry of Labour in Vietnam, which indicated that among frequent users of social networking sites, 27% of them spend more than half of their free time on these apps. Consequently, the amount of time for reunions with their families would be curbed considerably.

Admittedly, this phenomenon would pose dire and pending threats to the family relationships and the mental well-being of individuals. This is mainly attributed to the fact that, if workers practically focus on their occupation and neglect their beloved, the family bond will be loosened to a certain extent, or in worse cases, leading to more repercussions, such as divorces or domestic violence. For instance, a survey carried out by Homeee, a well-known page about family in Vietnam, pointed out that roughly 12% of divorces are because one spouse does not pay enough time and attention to his or her family members, thus adversely affecting the family bond. Furthermore, spending most of the time on social networking sites would take a toll on users’ mental health as they may lack direct interactions with people in real life and sink into the virtual world with unsustainable online relationships. Therefore, these people might be prone to depression and stress once their virtual relationships break up.

In conclusion, as for the aforementioned explanations, I concur that the fact that people in many regions are spending less time with their families, which results from their busy life and the proliferation of networking databases, exerts adverse impacts on the family bond and individuals’ mental health.