People in many countries do not wear their traditional costume. Some argue that they would forget their history and tradition. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, a topic of discussion is raising that citizens who do not wear their traditional clothes are indicating the unrespectful attitude to their country’s history and tradition. There are both for advocating and against this view, I believe it depends on different reasons.

It is undeniable that the nation’s unique costume has a profound meaning, which means if people do not wear it frequently day in and day out, they are encountering their culture. Firstly, bearing traditional costumes reminds people of many distinct characteristics of their area. In addition, how people perceive their conventional costume shows the extent to which they are willing to respect and retain their cultural heritage. For example, in Vietnam, schoolgirls are regulatorily required to wear Ao Dai, a traditional dress, as a custom being handed down from generation to generation. Secondly, the traditional costume’s presence in many social settings plays a crucial role. To be more specific, those costumes are required on many occasions, either formal or informal, either for everyday occasions or for festivals and formal wear, both have cultural meanings. As a result, the role of traditional costumes in culture is undisputed, wearing those clothes frequently can reflect the national identity and the pride of their nationality comparing with neighborhoods.

However, I am more convinced that although traditional costumes are worthy of people’s concern and should be preserved, however it does not necessarily mean that one should wear it all the time. Initially, people wear clothing in general for functional reasons. Particularly, traditional costumes are of cultural and social importance but might not suit every circumstances, we have to aware when and where is available to wear conventional dresses. For instance, exercise clothes are needed while people participate in physical activity, competitions and sports. Besides, dressing in a standard manner is a demonstration of respect, the key to mutual trust, especially in integration time. Consequently, not wearing traditional clothes frequently is not deserved to be considered meanly due to the social and novel awareness, by contrast, it implies invisibly the modern consciousness of the country within every international meeting.

In conclusion, while reasons can be given to justify that the nation’s unique wardrobes should be wore constantly to interpret the unforgettable heritage, I think this is not an accurate statement under any circumstances.