People say that it is a waste of time for high school students to learn literature such as novels and poems.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that literature is an unnecessary subject in the high school curriculum. From my perspective, I totally disagree with such an opinion due to the profound benefits of this subject including enhancing students’ ability to express ideas and increasing their happiness.

Firstly, literature equips students with essential skills to express their views effectively. As pieces of writing to be taught in the official curriculum have to be selected carefully, there are a variety of high-quality literary products from professional writers. Students can learn from these writers efficacious methods such as metaphors, and figures of speech. Consequently, students gradually develop their skills in producing persuasive writing or emotional speech, which will be a potential springboard to success. For instance, students can utilize their comprehension from literature to writing scholarship essays applying for prestigious institutes. Another analogous example of the immense practicality of this subject is that such skill could be indispensable in presenting logically and emotionally to persuade potential clients at work.

Furthermore, learning literature brings a sense of contentment to students. It is undeniable that learners can gain significant insights into numerous backgrounds, cultures, and histories from various places in different periods. They would feel lucky that they are fortunate enough not to endure such disastrous and traumatic events as wars and famines and develop empathy for underprivileged people who are popular topics in literature. Literature also offers learners invaluable sentimental values by promoting love for humans and surrounding nature. The opponents of literature would argue that it is more time-efficient to learn logic-based and practical subjects such as Maths and Science. However, I would contend that literature stimulates students’ artistic intelligence, and without it as a form of art, life would be arid and mundane.

In conclusion, literature is worth learning as it raises students’ happiness and ameliorates their expressive language skills. Literature lessons should be made interesting enough to yield optimal comprehensiveness