Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

The irresponsible disposal of food has indeed increased sharply in today’s modern society. This tendency is associated with the development of agricultural and consumers’ inefficient shopping habits. However, the problem can be promptly tackled with the joint efforts of consumers and governments.

There are two main driving forces behind the increasing waste of food. The first one probably relates to the spectacular growth of agriculture. With the innovation of agricultural technology and genetic modification, the production of agricultural produce becomes less laborious, which would results in the low expense that consumers pay for food. Unfortunately, it is the low-cost production that purchasers develop the practice of bulk-buying food products and end up wasting them after their expiration date. Another inevitable reason for this throwaway behavior lies in consumers’ purchases without any proper plans beforehand. COVID-19 quarantine perfectly exemplifies this as residents store a large amount of food for fear that the pandemic would interfere with the later purchase. Such tendency, however, undoubtedly leads to food waste due to short-term preservation.

However, some effective measures could be implemented to alleviate the circumstance. The first solution would probably involve consumers’ efforts to develop a habit of making detailed plans before shopping. If people take the detailed purposes of their food products into consideration, the amount of wasted food will decline significantly. Another feasible solution is that governments should launch campaigns against the irresponsible waste of food. Governments can propagate about the detrimental effects of it in social media to raise awareness among residents.

In conclusion, the massive problem of food waste is exacerbated by the advancement of agriculture and purchasers’ poor food planning. Nevertheless, the cooperation between consumers and the government would mitigate the potential impacts.