The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

Mass production as a result of the growth of consumption has indeed led to several environmental issues. The most significant ones are related to greenhouse gases and disposable goods. However, viable solutions can be taken by governments and corporations to tackle the problems.

To begin with, there are two main negative impacts resulting from mass production. The first problem is correlated with the increasing level of greenhouse gases. During the manufacturing process, a plethora of by-products is released into the atmosphere. For example, burning coal or diesel furnaces which provide heat to power many plants prove to discharge an enormous amount of carbon dioxide. Also, the insatiable demand for good consumption nowadays results in the throwaway lifestyle with the introduction of disposable goods, most of which are non-biodegradable. In other words, once becoming waste, these single-used products last for centuries before decomposing completely. This, therefore, undoubtedly leads to irreversible soil pollution.

However, there are preventive measures that can be promptly taken to mitigate the potential environmental deterioration. First and foremost, environmental sustainability in business should be promoted with the use of eco-friendly and recycled materials. An analogous example of this is Nike’s environmental initiative in which sustainable products are made using recycled polyester. Additionally, governments can also incentivize companies to pursue sustainable manufacturing processes. To be more specific, tax breaks and incentives can be provided for firms using green business strategies.

In conclusion, while the increase in manufactures does exert adverse effects on the environment including the greenhouse gases emission and disposable goods’ influence on the quality of soil, there are still feasible solutions that need the joint efforts of both governments and corporations.