Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

People put different interpretations on the morality of keeping animals in zoos. While many individuals believe that zoos play an essential role in conserving endangered animals, others regard this captivity as inhumane due to its negative impacts on animals’ natural behaviors.

On the one hand, proponents of zoos contend that zoos are of paramount importance in safeguarding endangered species against the brink of extinction. For centuries, animals have been illegally hunted for parts of their bodies such as horns, fur, and teeth which are believed to have immense value in medical treatment or decoration. Living in zoos, animals are protected from poachers who would otherwise hunt them to extinction for a substantial amount of cash. For example, rhinoceros, which is considered one of the most scarce species, survives partially thanks to the operation of zoos. Simply put, zoos are a necessary kind of captivity that would facilitate the conservation of animals and, therefore, deter the jeopardy of biodiversity loss.

On the other hand, despite the above-mentioned virtues of zoos, there is an ethical issue related to their adverse effects on animals’ natural behaviors that zoos should be prohibited. First, as zoos have restricted areas and certain dissimilarities with the wilderness, many creatures may find it grueling to rehabilitate. A salient example can be observed in elephants whose migration is their instinctive desire. Being prevented from performing this task due to the small-scale artificial habitat would potentially trigger aggression. Furthermore, while it is true that living and breeding in zoos would avoid shrinking populations due to illegal hunting, animals born in captivity would become dependent on humans and consequently struggle to return to wildlife.

In conclusion, while the advantages of zoos in animal conservation are reasonable to some extent, I believe that zoos should be banned regarding their potential detrimental impacts on the natural behaviors of wild animals. It is suggested that governments should take prompt measures to tackle poaching and the degradation of the ecosystem.