Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

There are different perspectives on the morality of keeping animals in zoos. While many individuals believe that zoos play an essential role in conserving endangered animals, others regard such captivity as inhumane due to the limits it places on animals’ natural behaviors.

On the one hand, proponents contend that zoos are of paramount importance in safeguarding endangered species that are on the brink of extinction. For centuries, animals have been illegally hunted for their horns, fur, and teeth, which have immense value for traditional medical treatments and decorative purposes. Living in zoos, animals are protected from poachers who might otherwise hunt them to extinction. For example, the black rhinoceros, which is one of the most scarce species, survives largely thanks to the operation of zoos and their conservation programs. In other words, zoos are necessary captivity that facilitates the preservation of animals and, therefore, curbs the threat of biodiversity loss.

On the other hand, there is an ethical issue related to the adverse effects of zoos on natural behaviors that justifies the prohibition of zoos. Firstly, as zoos are restricted enclosures and possess certain dissimilarities with the wilderness, many creatures may feel lethargic and struggle to adapt. A salient example can be observed in elephants, whose most instinctive desire is to migrate. Being prevented from performing this task due to the small-scale artificial habitat can potentially trigger aggressive reactions. Furthermore, although it is true that living and breeding in zoos effectively counters shrinking populations that illegal hunting causes, animals born in captivity will soon become dependent on humans and consequently struggle to reintegrate into the wild.

In conclusion, while the advantages of zoos in animal conservation are reasonable to some extent, I believe that zoos should be banned due to the potential detrimental impact on the nature of wild animals. I would suggest that governments take prompt measures to tackle poaching and the degradation of the ecosystem instead.