There are many people who have protested the conditions of zoos and demand that they should be shut down, as animals are subject to appalling conditions inside artificial captivity, while others believe that the institution of zoos can be beneficial to the conservation of wild animals. In my view, zoos may be the last resort for many species as the practice of poaching continues to threaten their survival, and should therefore be maintained.

On the one hand, many animal activists do have a point in arguing that zoos can be cruel. They are often mockeries of the animals natural habitats, and far too small to accommodate the animals that inhabit them. A lot of the animals in zoos are not as in shape as they would be in the wild, since they have regular feeding hours and no longer have any need to hunt. This in turn leads to them becoming unhealthy and living shorter lives. Many captive gorillas, for example, have been observed to have a lower lifespan than their free-roaming counterparts.

On the other hand, zoos prevent poachers from killing more animals, for they provide security that would not exist in the wild. Poaching has been a huge issue in recent years, and has contributed to a number of species going extinct. Zoos, meanwhile, are controlled places where the animals are under observation and protected by security at all times. Many zoos are currently being used in Africa in order to protect endangered species of rhino, for example, and as they have been shown to save many species from the cusp of extinction, they are a necessary evil for wildlife to continue to exist.

On the whole, I argue that although there are certain moral problems to keeping animals in zoos, the alternative of them potentially getting poached means that the existence of zoos is morally justified.