Some employers nowadays are observing that their newly-hired staff lack fundamental interpersonal skills, such as teamwork. This problem results from a number of cause to which several solutions will be proposed in this essay.

First, the lack of interpersonal skills in new employees is attributable to the nature of their previous workplace. In many companies, employees are divided into departments and work in small separate spaces or cubicles, in which each member is assigned particular tasks unrelated to their colleagues. Opportunities to share experience or exchange work-related subjects therefore rarely arise and teamwork skills cannot be developed. A lack of proper training during time at university could be another cause. Tertiary education nowadays seems to place more emphasis on training students to excel in their major through theoretical subjects rather than equipping them with fundamental soft skills. Many fresh graduates as a result are unable to collaborate effectively with their co-workers once entering the workforce despite having extensive expertise.

There are some solutions that can be implemented by companies and universities to address the problem. For instance, companies need to alter the way in which their employees work in order to create more opportunities for colleague interaction. Instead of working individually, projects could be more teamwork-orientated. Also, the grading criteria currently applied at university need to be changed to incorporate more soft skill training. Apart from compulsory major-related subjects, students should also be engaged in workshops or subjects specializing in job-related skills. All of these subjects will count towards students’ overall GPA when they gradate to ensure they are well-equipped with appropriate workplace skills.

In conclusion, a lack of basic interpersonal skills in new employees stems from businesses’ workplace practices and the educational system, and there are a number of feasible solutions to tackle this issue.