Some businesses find that new employees who just finished their education lack basic interpersonal ability such as working with other employees as a team. What do you think are the causes and what solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, some enterprises realize that new employees who have just graduated lack basic interpersonal ability such as teamworking skills. There are several reasons as well as some suggested solutions for this phenomenon.

The first reason is that formal degrees are preferably evaluated by employers during recruitment process. Hence, during the time at university, many students try to gain two or three degrees at the expense of interpersonal skills in order to ensure that their future careers are guaranteed, which means those skills are restricted to school settings and libraries. For instance, instead of hanging out with friends to release stress, many students jusst focus on their study and they are ill-equipped with other skills, especially interpersonal abilities when they become new employees. The second reason is that many students, especially students who move from rural areas to cities, often have to do part-time jobs to pay for their tuition fees. Thus, they do not have a chance to develop teamworking skills since they are too busy with their study and work.

However, there are some methods that can be employed to adress this problem. First of all, universities should often promote team orientation by encouraging collective efforts among students. This means that lecturers should be flexible in creating chance for students to work in a team. To illustrate, lecturers can let students do some projects on different topics such as environment, traffic,etc. together. Therefore, students will have an opportunity to discuss those topics with each other and enhance teamworking skills. Moreover, government should introduce a policy that help students from remote areas to have more time to attend projects and extracurricular activities. To exemplify, government can support those students with finance to assist those students.

In conclusion, there are a hosts of reasons why new employees have a tendency to lack basic interpersonal abilities. However, there are also some methods that can be employed in terms of introductions of new polity and the promotion of team orientation in universities.