In many countries, the number of animals and plants is declining. Why do you think it is happening? How to solve this issue?

In many nations, animals and plants are suffering a significant decrease in their number. There is a host of reason for this phenomenon as well as some methods that can be employed to tackle this problem.

To begin with, the declination in the number of animals and plants can be ascribed to poaching and deforestation. With regard to the former, for centuries, animals have been illegally hunted for their horns, fur and teeth, which have immense value for traditional medical treatments and decorative purposes. Hence, many animals are hunted illegally and they are driven to the brink of extinction with just small number left. For example, the number of blue whales has been reduced from 500 to 300 in just few years due to poaching. On the second point, many trees are cut down to meet the needs of people. To illustrate, overpopulation and lucrative timber harvesting have driven people to deforest, which leaded to adversely concerning consequence, such as the reduction in the number of plants.

Nevertheless, I argue that there are severeal effective measures to address this problem. First of all, politicians can urge the government to impose strict punishments, such as long term imprisonment and heavy fines, on those who cut down trees illegally. Moreover, various international law in protecting animals should be established on the foundation of international agreement. For instance, governments should make attempt to eradicate destructive habits and save the lives of endangered animals by raising funds to protect their natural habitat.

In conclusion, although human activities have contributed significantly to the declination of animals and plants, I believe that some measures can be instigated, namely strict punishments and the introduction of international laws, to solve this issue.