That there has been a devastating decline of the number of animals and plants the world over has become an alarming fact. Although there are many reasons for this phenomenon, there are also feasible solutions.

There are two reasons behind this decline. The first of which is deforestation. Nowadays, deforestation is an alarming problem throughout the world. Trees are cut down to clear space for cow grazing, farming, and wood harvesting. This leads to a direct loss of natural habitat for wildlife and exposes flora and fauna to the risk of extinction. According to recent estimates of the World Animal Foundation, around 137 species of flora and fauna are lost to deforestation per day. Another reason worth mentioning is climate change. Due to the greenhouse effect, the world’s temperature has been rising non-stop, which culminates in the increasing frequency of wildfires that are life threatening to both plants and animals. For instance, in 2020, Brazil’s wildfires wiped out an estimated number of 17 million animals.

While this phenomenon is catastrophic, there are a number of feasible solutions to tackle this problem. First, governments should implement stricter policies regarding commercial logging. Heavier fines should be levied on illegal loggers and forest ranger forces should have more reinforcements. Such tough measures will discourage illegal timber harvesting operations to a degree. Another solution is to encourage large companies to cut down on their carbon footprint. Corporations the world over can switch to eco-friendly energy sources and materials. For example, LEGO is currently building a carbon neutral plant in Binh Duong Province in Vietnam in an effort to minimize its carbon emissions.

In conclusion, the increasing disappearance of wildlife and plants can be attributed to climate change and deforestation. However, this problem can be addressed by enforcing stricter laws and regulations on deforestation and encouraging companies to minimize their carbon footprint.