Nowadays a large amount of advertising is aimed at children. Some people think this can have negative effects on children and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In our contemporary society, children is becoming the target audience of most advertisement. Some individuals opine that this can have a debilitating effect on children and should be prohibited. Personally, although advertising has its positive aspects for children in some cases, I believe that it also has negative sides.

Advertising is attributable to some positive sides for children. First of all, advertisements can serve as an inspiration for children to study about marketing. Since advertisements often possess glamourous appearances or interesing video clips about products on streets and television, this can attract children's attention and they want to make advertisements like those. For instance, children can be attracted by the images or decorations of advertising and they show their interest in learning more about marketing. Moreover, many tutor centres for children advertised on social networking sites such as Youtube, hence, children can find out to go to those centers to learn, which can help them to study better. To exemplify, children can improve their English skills by going to english centres.

However, this trend of advertising can have an adverse impact on children. Since many food and drinks brands collaborate with celebrity to endorse their products such as snack foods or sugary drinks, and due to the big influence of celebrity, children are easily want to purchase those food and drinks, which leads to the obesity of children nowadays. To illustrate, Christiano Ronaldo promotes the newly manufactured drinks which are high in sugary and this drives children to purchase that new drink and overconsume it, which lead to the incrtease in obesity rates in children.

In conclusion, I am of of the opinion that advertising can come in handy for children in some cases, but it also has negative impact on children's health.