Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

It is thought that zoos are cruel and should be banned. However, some individuals say that animals can be beneficial from zoos in term of protection. Personally, I am not in favor of the former view since zoos can have many advantages besides protecting animals.

On the one hand there is reason why some people claim that zoos can come in handy for animals with regard to protection. The main reason is that nowadays, illegal hunting poses a great threat to wild animals, which drive wild animals to the egdge of extinction. To illustrate, bengal tigers, which were once the biggest wild animals with the total population of about 40000, now, due to illegal hunting, the figure has reduced to just 20000.Hence, a growing number of individuals opine that let wild animals live in zoos can protect them.

On the other hand, I am of the opinion that although zoos can be cruel to some extent , they should not be prohibited as zoos can benefits for people. With regard to the former, for animal lovers, wild animals which are kept in zoos are cruel since they restrict the freedom of animals. It goes without saying that wild animals are belong to nature and those animals which once roamed in the forest, now, they are kept in the zoos as a way of entertainment for people. Therefore, for some people, especial animal lovers, deem that zoos are no more than public prisons for animals. On the second point, zoos can help children to discover nature and expose themselves to wild animals. This can serve as an inspiration for children to learn and know more about wild animals, which can influence their choice of career in the future. To illustrate, when they hear staffs of the zoo talking about each animals in the zoos, children can show their interest in them and want to become a zoologist or zookeeper in the future.

In conclusion, I am subscribe to the view that although zoos can be cruel to some extent, they can bring advantage for children and protection for animals, hence, they should not be prohibited.