Getting promotions is one of the biggest motivators for hard work in the modern workplace. Why are people so driven to receive promotions? What other factors motivate people to work hard?

There is a consensus among people that moving up the promotion ladder encourages employee to fully devote themselves to their work. There are reasons why people pay more attention to get promotion, however, there are also other components that can motivate people to become a hard-working person.

The biggest concern for people to work hard is being promoted can be ascribed to some reasons. First of all, moving up the career ladder is equivalent to the improvement of living standards. This means that once getting promotion, the salary of people will increase and they can spend more money buying things to better themselves. To illustrate, people can purchase food that is more nutritious instead of eating fast food, which can wreak havoc on people's health. Moreover, receiving promotion can assist people to boost their status in society. It goes without saying that getting a higher position means people can prove their capacity and earn the respect of their colleagues in the company.

However, there are also other factors that can create motivation for people to work harder. First, when employees complete any task or achieve objectives for one project, employers should pay them a compliment for their effort. Since many employees have worked overtime to complete tasks that they are assigned, although tired, once being complimented from their boss, they can be highly motivated to work harder. Second, each year, companies should book a holiday for their employees. Since employees will have time to unwind after a year of hard working, this can encourage employees to focus all of their efforts on their work. To exemplify, employers can book a holiday to attractive destinations which sutable for the company's expense or hold a small party every week in each department. Finally, job satisfaction plays an instrumental part in motivating employees to place more emphasis on their work. As it is the favourite job of employees, hence, there is no reason for hired-staff not to concentrate their efforts on their work

In conclusion, there are several reasons why promotion attracts people in terms of improved living standards and status achievement. However, there are also other factors that can also encourage employees to concentrate more on their work.