In the modern workplace, getting promoted is easily one of the biggest goals any employee can have. Although there are various reasons to want promotions, there are other motivations for working hard.

A promotion usually means more job and financial security to employees. Being promoted means that you are less likely to be replaced when companies are going through a purge. Along with the promotion, employees are likely to have a salary raise, which is the most common motivation for people to want promotions. Another reason why people work so hard to climb the ladder in corporations can be personal gratification. Being promoted means one is in a higher social status and has proven to be a competent person, which are all the reasons for personal pleasure.

However, there are multiple other ways to incentivize employees to work hard without involving a promotion. The first motivation comes in the form of healthy competition between colleagues. In a community where workers are challenged against one another to deliver the best results, it will create a drive to work harder. This should be noted, though, that this healthy competitive attitude can turn into aggressive workplace politics if not supervised. Another motivation is when employees feel that they are serving a greater purpose doing their jobs. For example, doctors and nurses work harder than any other profession because they feel they have the responsibility to save lives.

In conclusion, the promise of being promoted motivates employees to work hard in various ways. However, many other incentives make workers more diligent.