If a product is good and meets customer needs, then people will buy it and advertising is unnecessary. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a consensus among people that if a product is good and meets customer's demands, people will purchase it without the need of commercials. Personally, although it is true that individuals can purchase products that live up to their expectations, I believe advertisements are still crucial in our daily life.

First of all, advertising is one of the key aspects of a properous economy. If commercials do not exist, many companies will suffer from a decrease in sales and profits, which would eventually affect unemployment rates and the economy. To illustrate, Coca Cola provides thousands of employment opportunities in advertising throughout its branches across different regions around the world. Moreover, if advertising is considered as unimportant, a large number of workers such as marketes, may become unemployed. As a consequence, the government will have to provide temporary financial support for those unemployed people.

Furthermore, thanks to commercials, customers can be informed of newly launched products . In other words, they are aware of the array of selections available to their demands, otherwise, they are confined to only a narrow range of products. To exemplify, recently, there has been an appearance of a new shampoo product, thanks to advertisements, people can see that product on television or on other social networking sites such as Youtube or Facebook. As a result, people will have a tendency to try that new shampoo product and decide whether it is suitable with them or not.

In conclusion, although it is conceivable that if a product meet the demand of customers, they will purchase it. However, without the involve of commercials, this can affect the unemplyment rates and individuals cannot be informed of new products.