There are many who argue that if a product adequately meets the demands of customers, there is no need for a company to promote it through advertising. In this essay, I seek to argue that I overall disagree with this sentiment, since advertising can create differentiation from other products or promote certain lifestyles, which in the end increases products’ attractiveness to consumers.

On the one hand, it could be argued that advertising might not be necessary for certain special products as word of mouth might be enough to increase its sales, given that it fulfills customer needs. Those who have tried a unique product and are satisfied with it might voluntarily recommend it to their friends and colleagues. This is, for instance, how many companies operating in niche markets operate, as their consumer base is too small for mass advertising campaigns to be effective. Furthermore, it could also be said that in the internet age, potential consumers can simply search the internet for products that are congruent with their needs. For example, restaurants in a small area might not need to advertise to local inhabitants, since they can simply search on Google Maps and find the restaurants themselves.

On the other hand, one might contend that advertising is still necessary beyond showcasing the functionality of a product. In markets where there are many different brands for the same type of item, advertising can be the element which can help a customer make their final decision. For instance, although Coca Cola and Pepsi are functionally quite similar (i.e. they are both soft drinks), both brands still spend billions on advertising a year in order to make themselves seem unique. In addition, advertising could also be useful in associating a product with a certain lifestyle. For example, advertisements by perfume brands such as Hugo Boss often depict a luxurious way of living that can be obtained upon buying their product - this means that the consumer is buying the product not only for its functional value but the perception around it.

In conclusion, I argue that while for some small companies, advertising would be an unnecessary financial burden since their customer base is small enough that this would not be necessary. Nonetheless, for most products which caters to a larger audience, I believe that it needs to not only be useful to consumers but also create a certain image, and this is why advertising would still be crucial for its success.