Building the habit of recycling is one of the recommended practices for everyone living in today’s societies. However, many wonder whether schools or parents should be the ones mainly responsible for developing this practice. Although I think both can contribute to this, schools should play a more vital role.

However, that is not to say that parents should not be involved in teaching children to recycle. Firstly, children usually mimic their parents’ behaviors, both good and bad ones. As a result, if parents do not promote this habit by regularly practicing it, children will see that they do not need to do so. Secondly, because the process of recycling products mostly takes place in a domestic environment, parents should teach their children how to recycle and reuse in their homes. For example, parents can start by recycling groceries packaging, like oil bottles, plastic bags, or egg cartons.

Nevertheless, I believe that schools play a more crucial role in educating children on recycling. Firstly, schools are more open-minded and environmentally-conscious environment. For example, many parents from older generations do not believe in recycling and think of it as a waste of time. As a result, schools should provide children with a thorough analysis of why recycling is critical and the best ways to recycle. Secondly, children also develop habits through peer pressure, which is an element prevalent in schools. For example, when seeing that other students are recycling, children will be motivated to do so, regardless of their beliefs.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that families play a significant role in educating children on recycling. However, I believe that schools remain the most important source of both information and motivation for children to develop a habit of recycling.