Some people find advertisements amusing or annoying and they are not influenced by this when they shop. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whether advertisements do not exert any influence on people’s shopping preferences has gained traction. From my perspective, I disagree with this notion as advertisements can have significant effects on shoppers.

On the one hand, it is a fact that there are various factors contributing to consumers’ choices of goods and services besides advertising. The four fundamentals of a brand’s success are: product, price, place, and promotion. If a service is overpriced or lacking in quality or not widely available, then despite heavy promotional efforts, that product will not sell well in the market. A prime example is the case of McDonald’s in Vietnam. Despite its rather successful advertisements when it first appeared, after a few years, the brand’s penetration in the Southeast Asia country is considered a flop. McDonald’s unsuccessful venture could be attributed to its dishes, which are costly and unsuitable to the local’s taste.

On the other hand, I believe that advertisements have an immeasurable power of impact on shoppers. First, advertisements can educate and guide first-time consumers. To be more specific, in case a buyer has never purchased a product before, the first source of information she has is from advertisements. Thus, while shopping for the product, the topmost name on her mind would be the one with the most frequent promotions. Secondly, advertising can help shift people’s perception of a brand. Consumers, after watching a promotional video over and over again, will start to memorize the product’s benefits subconsciously and associate the product with said advantages. To exemplify, Louis Vuitton launched a collaboration - an advertisement effort - with Supreme in order to appeal to millennials. The partnership was a success as the famed fashion house managed to gain popularity among the demographic whose favor all brands are competing for.

To conclude, although there are other factors governing buyers’ choice, advertisements have certain control over consumers’ opinions and tastes when they are shopping.