Many people are currently proposing a solution to solve problems in the local area: have young people do volunteer, unpaid work to help people in their neighborhood. Although there are some drawbacks to this policy, I believe it is generally beneficial to society.

There are various benefits to this mandatory volunteer work. Firstly, it will help young people develop a sense of responsibility and community. By helping out people who they are familiar with growing up, they will feel more thankful and personally connected with their neighborhood. Secondly, through unpaid volunteer work, young people can significantly alleviate social problems and improve the quality of life in their community. Younger people nowadays are more open-minded and creative, which means when they channel these strengths into solving local problems, new solutions will arise. For example, many have developed group chats on social media to create an exercise-buddy program, encouraging people to do more physical activities.

However, there are still some disadvantages associated with this policy. The first drawback is that this year of voluntary work will be an interruption in their studies or their work. Many students can easily forget knowledge learned after just a few months of not continuing their studies, let alone a year. The second drawback is that if this policy is mandatory, it can pose a stressor to the younger generation. For example, many already have multiple responsibilities to tend to, like taking care of their siblings, working for their families, or struggling to study or find a job. Adding yet another one will cause them to carry out the volunteer work carelessly. Some may even publicly object to it, thinking that they are stripped of their freedom.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that this policy carries some disadvantages, especially for people in underdeveloped areas. However, I think that if it is encouraged, rather than mandated, it is generally advantageous.