Recently issues have arisen regarding whether or not advertisements targeted at children should be legally allowed. Personally, I view advertisements aimed at children to be unethical, since not only are they still naive, but bombarding them with commercials can cause a rift in the relationship between them and their parents.

Firstly, advertisements should not be aimed at children because they are highly suggestible, and as such cannot yet understand what is ultimately their best self-interests. Because they are incapable of making responsible fiscal decisions, marketing to this demographic means exploiting their inability to make rational choices for financial gain. For example, although children might want to buy lego sets advertised on TV, they often get bored of them as soon as they find out what they have bought is not like the advertisements. This exploitation of children’s naivety could be judged to be unethical.

Secondly, marketing to children inevitably leads to them pleading with their caretakers, who have disposable income to spend, which can lead to a deterioration in their relationship. Not buying children's toys could result in resentment in the relationship, for it is reasonable for caretakers whose duty it is to be fiscally responsible to refuse the child’s requests. This situation if repeated enough may in turn lead to negligence and subsequently stunt child development. Psychological studies have shown, for example, that children who have been neglected perform worse in cognitive tasks then those who have not.

In conclusion, I hold that not only are advertisements aimed at children unethical because it exploits their suggestibility, they can also affect children’s relationships with their parents and damage them psychologically. Therefore, I believe that such practices should be legally disallowed.