There have been many reports showing that employees who have just finished college are lacking interpersonal skills. I think negligence in building up those skills during college can be one of the causes. However, there are many solutions to this problem.

There can be many causes for this lack of interpersonal abilities. Firstly, this is due to the fact that many people, especially those who live in college are too focused on studying and do not pay enough attention to the importance of these skills. Because they do not understand how crucial these skills are, and in their work lives, they do not bother to acquire them. Secondly, the environment in colleges places little emphasis on developing extracurricular activities for students. There are very few organizations for students to participate in and build up on their teamwork abilities.

However, I think there are many ways that we can improve this situation. Firstly, schools should have more clubs and events for students to take part in so they have the chance to expand their network. By this way, students can foster and strengthen their interpersonal skills. Moreover, students should be encouraged to find internships during the summer or other vacations. This will help them understand the reality of work life and thus, know where to improve themselves to work effectively.

In conclusion, there are many reasons why young adults are lacking their transferable skills. One of the main causes is that people do not pay enough attention to building these skills. However, I believe that a lot of effort can be taken to solve this.