Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. What are the problems? What should governments and individuals do to tackle these problems?

It is true that the population has grown at an alarming rate, especially in metropolitan areas. While overpopulation exerts serious effects on both residents’ lives and the environment, there are feasible solutions that can be taken by the government and individuals to mitigate the problems.

To commence with, overpopulation has detrimental impacts on urban residents’ quality of life. It is believed that the growing unemployment rate is correlated with the booming population. This, consequently, results in poverty and in turn, the lack of accommodations due to the increasing cost of living. The significant number of impoverished vagrants across the city streets would strikingly exemplify this phenomenon. Another problem associated with overpopulation is probably pollution. A larger population density would undoubtedly worsen traffic congestion which, therefore, causes serious noise and air pollution. Additionally, water and air will be contaminated due to the tremendous untreated waste discharged from industrial zones. The underlying driving force behind this is the ever-increasing demand that factories are supposed to satisfy.

However, preventive measures can be promptly taken by governments. Local authorities can provide financial fundings to encourage urban dwellers’ migration to rural areas. Besides, reasonable family planning projects should be encouraged to alleviate the alarming rate of population growth, and families who violate would be required to pay heavy taxes. For example, in Vietnam, families are incentivized to give birth to a maximum of two children. At the same time, individuals also take responsibility for easing the influences. They should collaborate intensely with governments to enhance the efficiency of the given projects. It is advisable that they always be self-aware and take effective birth-control methods.

In conclusion, while overpopulation causes a plethora of drawbacks to citizens’ lives and the environment, viable solutions with a joint effort of governments and individuals would address the problems.