People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less?

The consumption of sugar-sweetened beverages has indeed increased significantly in recent decades. The primary reasons for this tendency relate to the extra energy this kind of drink provides and the unawareness of consumers. However, governments can tackle the problem by preventive measures including taxes and educational programs.

There are two main driving forces behind the prevalence of sugary drinks. Firstly, such beverages provide people with energy. Scientifically, the rush of sweetness contained in these drinks activates a brain chemical called dopamine, leading to a state of euphoria. Covered with hectic schedules, people find drinking these beverages beneficial due to the high concentration they foster. Another compelling reason for this is associated with consumers' lack of awareness. Some people, especially children, are still not equipped with enough knowledge of a healthy diet and lifestyle. In some cases, although some people already acknowledge the detrimental impacts of sugar-based drinks, they maintain the same drinking habits because they cannot refrain from satisfaction when drinking these beverages. Coca-Cola and Pepsi perfectly exemplify this as they remain the leading soft drink corporations despite thousands of articles pinpointing its adverse effects on public health.

Nevertheless, there are feasible solutions to mitigate the problem. Governments can impose heavier taxes on the production and distribution of soft drinks. As the expenses for these drinks increase, consumers would probably be discouraged from consuming them unreasonably. Another viable measure involves educational propaganda campaigns that incentivize people to be cautious about their beverage choices and lead to a healthy lifestyle. This program should be promoted widely in the school curriculum, billboards, and TV channels to yield optimal results. The emphasis should be placed on children who have little likelihood to refuse sugar-dominant drinks.

In conclusion, satisfaction and the unawareness of consumers are the principal reasons behind the escalating sugar-based drinks intake. Governments should take immediate actions, namely taxes and educational programs to eliminate this harmful trend.