These days people in some countries are living in a “throw-away” society which means people use things in a short time then throw them away. What are the problems and solutions?

It is true that the “throw-away” culture has become increasingly commonplace since people tend to discharge their purchases as waste after a brief period of time. This tendency has negative impacts on both environments and consumers themselves. However, there are also viable solutions that need a joint effort of both government and purchasers to address the problems.

To commence with, “throw-away” culture has detrimental effects that need to be thoroughly considered. The first problem relates to the degradation of the environment. According to an independent study, the vast majority of waste people dispose of is non-biodegradable. For example, millions of shopping bags discharged every day worldwide are made of a non-biodegradable substance called polythene. In other words, most waste lasts for centuries before decomposing completely and therefore undoubtedly leads to soil pollution. Another issue correlated with this behavior is financial burdens. Allocating a huge sum of money to trending and novelty products is a waste of money. The negative habit of overspending is likely to get people into serious debt, especially adolescents who usually lack sufficient skills and experience in monetary management. Consequently, people might suffer from undesirable anxiety and depression.

However, there are preventive measures that can be promptly taken to mitigate the influences. First and foremost, governments should place strict constraints on the amount of non-biodegradable goods. To be more specific, taxes should be imposed on factories whose amount of products exceed the permitted quantity. Besides, governments can provide funds to encourage the ablest scientists to invent environmentally friendly materials. At the same time, consumers have the responsibility to raise their self-awareness by refraining from over-expenditure and practicing segregating waste into recyclable and non-recyclable ones.

In conclusion, while “throw-away” culture has exerted serious effects on both the environment and consumers, solutions to this problem will probably involve collaborative actions from the government and purchasers.