More and more people are becoming seriously overweight. Some people think a solution can be to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity has been a global concern for decades. There is a belief that raising the cost of unhealthy food will eliminate the problems. While this solution brings certain virtues, I would contend that there are more suitable measures by governments and families.

On the one hand, raising fattening foods expense is effective to some extent. In today's fast-paced society, the enormous consumption of fast food is primarily because this kind of food tends to be made ubiquitous and ridiculously cheap to lure consumers into purchasing it unreasonably. If governments impose taxes and raise the price of these foods and make nutritious options, in contrast, more widely available, consumers would likely opt for the latter. The decline in affordability undoubtedly minimizes the risk of obesity. However, it is not always the case for junk food addicts as these foods have become an indispensable part of their life and may not be able to restrain from digesting these regardless of the exorbitant prices. They may also conduct illegal acts because obsession is uncontrollable.

On the other hand, I would contend that more drastic measures would involve the joint efforts of governments and families. Governments should propagandize the detrimental impacts of fattening food on public health and emphasize the importance of exercising. For example, the school curriculum can include nutrition lessons to guide students to healthy eating habits. The problem can also be mitigated by families by preparing home-cooked meals and intensely limiting the amount of unhealthy food. Parents should spend time with their children having a sufficient amount of time for physical activities.

In conclusion, while increasing the cost of fattening foods does exert positive effects, I would argue that obesity can be handled more efficaciously by the collaboration of governments and families.