Online communication is becoming more popular than face-to-face communication in many companies. Do the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

The prevalence of the Internet has led to the ever-increasing popularity of online communication. It is becoming more common for several corporations to use digital devices to communicate in the workplace. Although there are certain downsides related to productivity and confidentiality, I believe that the advantages of this tendency including cost-effectiveness and avoidance of unfortunate factors outweigh its disadvantages.

On the one hand, adopting online communication in the workplace can trigger many detrimental impacts. The first problem of this kind of communication is associated with companies’ productivity. There are potential misinterpretations due to the absence of facial expressions and body language. Connection problems and device errors can also decelerate the meeting’s progress and interrupt the flow of ideas. For example, camera error causes difficulties to organizers to ensure that no one is distracted or intentionally absent from the meeting. Another negative impact of web-based communication is probably security threats. It is undeniable that storing documents and statistics online is highly vulnerable to hackers and information leaks. This, consequently, damages the firms in terms of finance and reputation.

On the other hand, online communication brings more significant benefits to companies. Economically, online communication is more affordable than face-to-face communication. Domestic employees could avoid anxieties about transportation costs and possible traffic congestions. For many multinational corporations, holding an online conference is more money-saving than purchasing a foreign business trip. Additionally, online communication allows businesses to operate smoothly despite external inconveniences. COVID-19 perfectly exemplifies this as quarantine is of paramount importance leading to the cancellation of several events and gatherings. Fortunately, online conferences can guarantee both employees’ health and the conduct of the events.

In conclusion, from my perspective, the advantages of online communication have more significant impacts than its disadvantages. I would suggest that technologists upgrade their devices to produce optimal efficiency.