TASK 2; Online communication is becoming more popular than face-to-face communication in many companies. Do the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

It is a phenomenon when doing everything on the Internet, especially the interaction in many firms is increasingly becoming a trend, which replaces offline communication. In my book, I believe that this tendency brings about more benefits than drawbacks.

On the one hand, there are some foreseeable drawbacks of communicating via the Internet. Firstly, due to having access to digital gadgets tremendously, people are prone to many mental illnesses when not being able to interact with real friends and colleagues. For example, a co-worker of mine suffers from depression which impacted adversely the effectiveness in working and solving job-related problems. Secondly, face-to-face communication would help to reduce the risk of misunderstanding which many enterprises might encounter in online meetings. By contrast, by participating in an offline conversation, attendants are allowed to capture details, contents, and opinions in an explicit way.

On the other hand, I hold the view that meeting through social platforms could possess some benefits these days. Because of the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic in the whole globe nowadays, having an online discussion would be a better option to mitigate and minimize the rate of contagious cases occurring on a daily basis. More importantly, these businesses might be allowed to operate and maintain their works at the right pace in lieu of being procrastinated by this severe circumstance. Moreover, firms could be able to cooperate and sign business contracts with foreign partners via online conferences. As a result, this creates more opportunities for these companies to develop and broaden their trade market in the long term.

In conclusion, despite some aforementioned disadvantages of this trend, I am still inclined to the positive impacts of organizing businesses following the technological trend of the world.