Task 2: Young people today spend too much money and time following fashion trends (clothing, tech). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a popular phenomenon that nowadays the young generation is often attracted by trendy clothes or technological devices. From my point of view, I completely disagree with this tendency.

In terms of finance, because of being impacted by surrounding friends and environment, youngsters often desire to be a fashionable person, which allows them to expose their personality and wealth. Even if their financial condition is not good, they tend to find every possible way to be luxurious and trendy. For example, a man who is addicted to showing up himself even commits illegal activities to meet his unlimited demands. This leads them to bad shopping habits and affects hugely their lifestyle. In contrast, instead of squandering their budget on high-end clothes or modern devices, they could spend their money on other important and useful sectors such as education, or helping the poor.

In terms of time, it is not a strange scene when people could encounter a student who is browsing on online shopping websites to search for some modern and new clothes or accessories. This makes these students not have time for their academic study and research, which might pose a threat to their career prospects. Take my niece as an example, in lieu of spending time on improving her knowledge, caring too much about her appearance by shopping and using a state-of-the-art smartphone jeopardized her academic performance.

In conclusion, although clothing or technological devices are necessary things in our daily life, I do not advocate the materialistic lifestyle which affects adversely their studying result or working performance.