It is important for all towns and cities to have large public spaces such as squares and parks. Do you agree or disagree?

Many people suppose that it is necessary to construct large public spots such as squares or parks in all suburban and metropolitan areas. While I accept that these spaces play an important role in our society, I would argue that it is more crucial to invest money in some other important sectors such as medical care or education.

On the one hand, I agree that large public areas are important to countries. First of all, as there are big spaces in residential areas, this encourages people to do exercise more regularly. As a result, public health would be improved tremendously thanks to modern devices such as treadmills or exercise bikes being placed in parks and squares . Secondly, since these places could be designed and built magnificently, these places would become tourist attractions. This might help to promote the economy of these places by virtue of exchanging the local products with domestic and foreign travelers. For instance, Guom lake- a ubiquitous Vietnamese public space attracts a great number of tourists on a yearly basis, which creates many job opportunities for many local people.

However, I would argue that despite understanding the importance of public areas, it is unable to construct these big projects in all towns and cities. The most significant reason is that spending money on those constructions is a waste of our countries’ budget while other urgent sectors such as medical care or education need more investment. For example, when the literate rate is still low in some areas, improving this problem should be prioritized in lieu of investing money in building public spaces. Moreover, since these public spots require large land, this would narrow the residential areas of the population. At the same time, overpopulation is a common phenomenon in many countries nowadays, which makes these people do not have enough accommodation to locate in.

In conclusion, while parks and squares are vital to communities to some extent, I still believe that other fundamental fields are more crucial.