Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Protecting the environment is increasingly becoming a global necessity. While I agree that politicians take responsibility for this subject, I disagree with the statement that individuals play a minor role in this topic.

To begin with, there are some reasons why it is necessary to ask the administrations to solve the environmental issue. Firstly, due to the role of a leader in a certain country, these officials could enact environment-related regulations which are valid to the whole community. Because of this action, citizens would be informed about the importance of protecting their environment in an official way. By contrast, an individual or a private organization would find it difficult to disseminate environmental messages and popularize them. Secondly, politicians are people who represent residents in a particular area to solve problems in relation to the benefits for society and individuals. Therefore, these representatives could have a broad vision to address issues properly and mitigate them in an appropriate way.

However, it would be mistaken to claim that the responsibility of individuals is little or not important. The initial point is that a community is established and built up by every single individual, which could reflect the picture of a town. This means that only a person dumps household waste in an improper place, the cleanliness of the whole area would be influenced adversely by this individual. Nevertheless, if everyone together has a good consciousness of environmental protection, people could live in a clean and green city or town. For example, my niece, herself, runs a campaign in her school to encourage schoolmates to join a hand in collecting trash on the local beach every weekend, which helps to contribute to the cleanliness of her area.

In conclusion, although the government is mainly accountable for these emergency issues, I am of the opinion that individuals also play a vitally important role in protecting the globe from pollutants.