In many countries, plastic containers have become more popular than ever. They are used in many businesses such as the food and drink industry. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

It is commonly witnessed that these days, the worldwide usage of plastic bags and bottles for business purposes takes place in every corner of our lives. In my personal point of view, I believe that negative impacts of this trend would be huger than positive ones.

To begin with, due to the convenience and flexibility of these containers, these businesses find it easier to operate their broad systems and persuade their potential customers. By contrast, if these brands ask consumers to bring sustainable containers when going shopping, those people might deny purchasing products in a certain supermarket. Secondly, a method of using plastic bags or bottles to preserve perishable foods and ingredients would be reasonably priced or even cheaper than others. More importantly, when it comes to business-related topics, every cost has to be taken into deliberate consideration, which could help these enterprises create and gain more profits.

However, I would argue that this tendency would bring about some foreseeable drawbacks. The initial downside is that overusing these non-recyclable containers would jeopardize our fresh environment and habitat when tons of plastic bags and bottles dump into our Earth every single moment. This may pose a threat to humans’ safety and cleanliness and result in natural disasters such as prolonged droughts, disastrous floods, and wildfires by virtue of the imbalance in the ecosystem. As a result, each nation might have to invest more budget in the workforce in order to research and run proper waste treatments. In addition, citizens’ physical health would be impacted adversely when many landfills are resided in a close location compared to residential areas.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are some benefits of using plastic containers in consuming products, however, it seems to me that not using these containers would bring about more merits.