In many countries, plastic containers have become more popular than ever. They are used in many businesses such as the food and drink industry. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, many businesses in the world are likely to utilize plastic containers, especially in the food and drink industry. Albeit some certain merits of this phenomenon, I maintain that its disadvantages outweigh the advantages.

On the one hand, global merchants prefer plastic containers because of its benefits. It is obvious that the usage of plastic containers brings them more profits. In more detail, the production expense of plastic is lower than other materials, so businesses can purchase it economically and minimize costs as much as possible when selling their products to consumers.

On the other hand, businesses using plastic containers for packaging food and drink is more detrimental due to two transparent reasons. Firstly, health implications can be caused to consumers. After containing food by plastic containers, the chemicals in it contaminate the food and enter our bodies, which leads to lots of untreated diseases such as cancer. Moreover, the environment is also adversely affected. Because this chemical is insolubility and requires a long time to decompose, to resolve plastic waste, authorities have to burn it, which means a huge amount of emissions is released to the atmosphere; hence, the air is polluted severely.

In conclusion, although the application of plastic containers provides the immediate benefits for retailers, it also results in more long – term repercussions.