People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new

country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe when making a transition to settling in a new country, they should practice the country’s traditions. I completely agree with this.

There are many good reasons to follow and adapt the customs as a new immigrant. Firstly, when learned the traditions, it will be easier to blend into the society. For example, an international student transfers to a school in United States, where the school is all about football. If the student does not know anything about football, it will be very difficult for the student to communicate with others attending the same school or blend into the American spirit.

Secondly, a foreigner that does not adapt to the new environment or does the opposite action might end up doing something illegal. For instance in Singapore, people don’t chew gum and it is going against the law if an immigrant does it. However, there is a good side in adapting to a new culture; one of them is to be able to gain knowledge. Entrepreneurs who learned the traditions in a new country are more likely to be successful. Another advantage of learning new traditions is you will be more likely to be welcome by the community. For example of my sister dated a foreigner 2 years ago. The first day, he came to meet and have lunch my parents; he was judged right away when he did not wait for the elders to eat before he can have his first bite.

In conclusion, I would argue it is essential for foreigners to learn new customs when moved to a new country in order to be success and enjoy a good quality experiences in the new place.