People should follow the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Concerning the issue of following the customs and traditions when people start to live in a new country, it is believed that foreigners should adapt to the local customs and traditions when they to reside in a new country. As far as I am concerned, I do partially agree with the statement for several reasons which will be given out in this essay.

First of all, it can be said with certainty that local people will accept newcomers who do this - more integration, easier to make friends. The key explanation is possibly because local people will be more welcoming when they fell that the newcomers are showing respect for the local way of life.

Second of all, a special consideration in this case is that new immigrants will enjoy the traditions and be able to take part in community life, have a knowledge about their customs. Example, they can enjoy festival, exchange traditions between countries make a mutual understanding.

In contrast, it must be admitted that we have different the norms of social behavior. Most people would agree that they can be social isolated. It will become almost impossible to get used to new environment. Newcomers will certainty face difficulties if they do not conform to host country’s law. For instance, when people drive on highway, if they do not know about their traffic rules, they can be punished. Besides, newcomers might fall foul of the law if they do not respect the behavior and customs of local. In Singapore, residents will consider newcomers dirty and ill-mannered if they litter the street or spit gum in public places.

Taking everything into consideration, people have to weigh up in their thought to what extent this issue should be support. However, the decisions are convincing enough to lead me to conclusion that it is essential foe new residents to follow the traditions and habit of the local in the host community in order to integrate fully into society.