People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves their families and the society so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

Working longer hours is getting more common in today's society. Personally, I argue that this trend not only has an adverse impact on the workers themselves but also on their families and the community as a whole. Therefore, I agree entirely with the idea of limiting working hours.

To individuals, working for more extended hours triggers at least two issues. Firstly, workers are so immersed in their jobs that they have a tendency to live a high pressured and stressful lifestyle frequently and overlook entertainment activities. This lifestyle increases the chance that they suffer from various health problems such as splitting headaches, Alzheimer's disease. Moreover, spending more time on work is probably at the cost of personal life. Busy working schedules prevent people from taking regular family trips or even just having meals together. Relationships among members are considerably weakened if they can not make time for each other. As a result, people may become socially isolated.

Long hour working staff not only put themselves at a disadvantage but also hampers the development of their companies and society sometimes. Some academic researches have pointed out that the most productive period of a person in a day is limited and it only lasts in certain hours. Therefore, employees can not pay their attention to what they are doing if they experience nonstop long working hours. In many cases, they are mistakes when they can not focus on anything lead to the shutdown of the production line and cause tremendous wastes to their company in particular and to society in general. It gives an explanation of why a lot of firms do not foster their staff to work overtime. They usually organize beneficial outdoor activities for their workers like vacation or sports events.

In conclusion, I would argue that working time should be reduced since the frequency of long working hours exerts a severe impact on employees, their families, and the community.