Some people think that telling the truth is not always essential. It is necessary to tell lies sometimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The truth is not always a better decision. Although telling the truth is what people pursue as a moral value. Some people argue that untruth provides the best solution in some circumstance in real-life contexts, I completely agree with this idea for the following reasons.

In some cases, white lies are harmless and can be socially beneficial. The first reason is that for entertainment purposes, comedians can make up some fake stories to bring people laughter. These people are likely to overstate facts and do unusual something including doing like a machine in their fantastic stories, enable viewers to relieve stress and regain their energy after hard working weeks. Another explanation is that telling not truth stories can be considered as a way to establish a friendship. One such example is that if people want to make acquaintances with someone they see for the first time and do not how to start the conversation, they would need to break boundaries between them through telling jokes to make new friends feel comfortable to have a good talk with them.

One of the strongest justifications for telling lies is that they are regularly done for giving hope for listeners. A popular example of this involves patients who are diagnosed with lethal diseases such as cancers and want to spent the remaining time of their life to live meaningfully and happily. In those situations, it is morally acceptable to lie to the victims about their real medical condition so that they continue to live and die with a peaceful frame of mind. Some academic researches proved such practice to be of the healing power which can lengthen the remaining lifespan of the patients.

In conclusion, although telling the truth is still being regarded as a core virtue in many traditions, I believe that telling lies is accepted or recommended in some situations.