It is considered that telling the truth in any situation should be a necessity, as some people think that it is an honorable decision. However, many people are in the opinion that in some cases, lying should be the only option and honesty should not be that essential. I completely agree with this statement, since integrity and realism can sometimes bring nothing but damage to people.

To begin with, telling a falsehood can have a serious impact on other people, both positive and negative, that can tremendously damage the relationship between people. To elaborate, refusing to be truthful to another person can be justified by the fact that it is regularly done for sympathy and compassion. For instance, a couple telling their relatives that they had a secret wedding to escape the obligation to invite them. In these circumstances, the falsehood can save a relationship between two people, thus, not causing the pain to others.

Secondly, another reason to not be truthful is to avoid misunderstanding between people, as it often causes discussions. Another excuse is that lies are harmless and can be socially beneficial. For example, some people lie to prioritize someone's feelings over truth and therefore make a statement based on what they think is right. If someone asks your opinion on their personality and character, it is sometimes better to tell a lie rather than be sincere, hence, making them feel better about themselves.

To sum up, although falsehood appears to be morally wrong at first, it is indeed the right ethical thing to do in some cases. However, I believe that honesty is still a virtue that we must embrace.