Some people think that when recruiting, companies should aim to take on people who are innovative and able to work independently while others considered they should recruit people who are able to work in a team and follow instructions.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A significantly large number of people are of the opinion that employees should hire ingenious workers with an ability to work independently, while other speculators believe that businesses should aim to take people who are able to collaborate with their co-workers and follow their directions. This essay will discuss both views in detail.

On the one hand, staff members who are able to work alone have a sense of ownership. In other words, laborers who are capable of performing individually have a feeling of ownership and full control of their actions. Some may find it beneficial, since work is done expeditiously and operatives execute assigned tasks effectively. However, in some cases individual work is due to the shortage of staff members and many workplaces seem to overload their employees with an excessive number of tasks. For example, nowadays, there is only one labourer operating in workplaces such as fast food establishment's drive-thru. This is a drawback for many people.

On the other hand, teamwork can be extremely beneficial if team members are on an even working field. When each and every one of group members are equally competent, work can be done efficiently without any struggle. Some may view working in a team advantageous, since it offers workers a potential ability to do more than one person could handle by delegating duties. Moreover, work can be done effectively and efficiently if staff are uniformly proficient and skilled, otherwise, exertion may be slowed down because of some staff member's lack of certain abilities. Furthermore, the cons of this approach includes possible dispute that may arise between employees due to several factors, such as misunderstanding of an assigned work and unwillingness of some workers to perform the job.

In conclusion, working individually and in a team environment both have a set of advantages and drawbacks that may be suitable for different people. In my opinion, I find team working more comfortable, as I sometimes need guidance from my peers and co-workers.