Advertising encourages customers to buy quantity, not in quality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's world, the advertisement has become a significant tool for marketing a product. So it leads to the question about its function. Although some people claim that it helps improve product quality, I personally believe that it more encourages sales volume.

There are many essential and related reasons why advertising could cause several disadvantages for customers. Firstly, advertising campaigns could include marketing strategy such as "the second one free," which mean customers can have two items together at a lower price than purchasing each item separately. One such example is the Lux company which agree to give soap free on purchase of two soaps. It obviously encourages customers to buy more. Secondly, the fact shows that the more advertising expenses increase, the higher the product price is. The reason can be that the selling price of advertised items covers the high cost of advertisements. As a result, the advertised product can cost more than they should, and customers must pay for extra-cost.

Another disadvantage of advertisements is that customers are cognitively and psychologically defenseless against advertising. Therefore, they are easily influenced by some costly branded but unnecessary items, especially children. Advertisements encourage children to entice their parents to purchase the product advertised in the commercial. Nowadays, most of the children like to own a smartphone which is a result of the mass advertisement. Recently a school in the United Kingdom banned children from using smartphone inside school premises, as cellphones were the major cause of distraction which affected their studies.

In conclusion, I believe that advertisements create an impression on the customer's mind and people end up buying unnecessary items. Thus, advertising is more conducive to increasing quantity rather than enhancing quality.