People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

These days, there are people who believe that the national government should impose an increase in fuel prices on vehicles such as cars with terms to protecting the environment. While I agree that this should be applied to private vehicles, I believe that such high prices should not be applied to public ones.

On the one hand, it is rational for the government to put a higher price on fuel for private means of transportation such as cars and motorbikes. This helps discourage residents from traveling by motor vehicles, which often emit a large amount of carbon dioxide gas into the atmosphere. As a result, such negative effects on the environment as air pollution and global warming may be substantially minimalized.

On the other hand, I believe that fuel costs for public transports including buses and coaches should not be increased. This will encourage people to commute by public means of transportation which means less vehicles on the road. Consequently, traffic delays, especially during rush hours, will possibly be reduced, which contributes to improving environmental problems. Moreover, remaining the original costs of fuel for public transports help create a reasonable option for those who are in lower economic condition. This is because when fuel costs increase for private motorbikes which are their daily means of commuting, they may be unable to afford to purchase fuel or electric transports, leading to numerous problems. Therefore, reasonable ticket fees on public transports will provide them with an available option in place of private vehicles.

To conclude, while imposing a fuel costs increase on personal means of transportation is beneficial for the environment, I still believe that it should not be applied to public ones since they helps relieve the burden of traffic and at the same time, become the alternative commuting means for poorer residents.