People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. Give your opinion.

It is thought that raising the cost of fuel for private vehicles including cars and motorbikes is the most effective solution to tackle the degradable environment. My view is that there are other workable measures that can solve this problem.

On the one hand, if authorities increased the price of fuel, it would address environmental issues. Firstly, in terms of private means, the drivers will consider the high cost to reach the destination, so they will transform to use the public transportation to save money. For example, students, who study at the universities in Vietnam, often opt for buses as the major means to go to school. Secondly, regarding freight services, to cut down the expense, the companies would take account the shipping fee so that they can choose the railways for their delivery methods. Therefore, when the cost of fuel grows up, it will make the environment cleaner and greener.

On the other hand, the measure mentioned above is not the only solution to mitigate the air or noise pollution, so the government should adopt policies to be more feasible in the long term. The first policy is that the authorities should subsidize the cost of fares, which will encourage more people to use public transport system. The second way is that the cars must be prohibited driving into the city centers or drivers must pay for the congestion charge when moving to such those populated places. Finally, promoting the green campaigns to motivate the public to use environmentally friendly vehicles such as electric cars or motorbikes that would optimize environmental preservation.

In conclusion, raising the price of petrol is the possible solution to ease the pollution, however I believe that there would be three other effective measures that could solve this problem.