One-fifth of the children in western civilization, in the last decade, have put on extra weight. This essay will mainly focus on two areas: causes of this issue, which consists of growing trend of not only high consumption of fast-foods but also interest towards virtual games; and its solutions, which includes encouraging our coming generation for switching back to both outdoor sports and eating healthy.

A number of factors can be held responsible for the above problem. Firstly, people prefer to eat only for taste these days. Because Mc Donalds and Dominos have opened in every corner of modern cities, the interest of society is shifting from homemade food to such junk food, and it is leading to high consumption of harmful oils. Moreover, children are spending long hours on video games, instead of going out and enjoying in actual playgrounds. By doing so, they do not burn the calories and just become couch potatoes. Therefore, high consumption of calories and lesser activities are the two root causes of this issue.

Still, the above negative fashion can be controlled in different ways. To begin with, we all know home-cooked food never makes one obese, so we must educate the children for opting it over fast foods. It has less harmful ingredients than the one available in restaurants and at streets. In addition to this, both burning of fat and getting sweat is also very essential to keep oneself in shape. If one goes outside and spend some time in playing with friends, then he will surely shed the extra pounds he has gained at home.

In conclusion, although due to the above-mentioned reasons, indubitably, issue of weight gain has increased in the western world recently, the same can be tackled by spreading awareness about taking nutritional diet and promoting physical activities.