The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

It is alarming that the proportion of children in Western countries with obesity has rocketed by nearly 20 percent in the last decade. Reasons for this unfavorable phenomenon vary and the consequences of it are plethora.

Regarding the causes of obesity among children, the frequent access to fast food and the lack of physical activities are to blame. While in Eastern nations the appearance of convenience food is rare, children in the West have been rather used to the omnipresence of famous fast food chains such as McDonald's or Burger King. Therefore, they shall have no difficulty buying and consuming these types of food on a regular basis which later results in their gaining weigh uncontrollably. Another reason for children being obese is the fact that the advances in technology have granted them with numerous options for entertainment within a tiny electronic device. As a result, outdoor activities are no longer a lucrative choice for children since they prefer to sit down and indulge in the endless source of fun on their phones. This sedentary lifestyle prohibits fat and energy from being converted and children will become overweight accordingly.

Considering the effects that a young obese population will have to face, not only will fat children struggle academically but their health is bound to suffer. First and foremost, obese children are vulnerable to the risks of multiple diseases such as diabetes and heart attack for which treatment costs are extremely exorbitant. Moreover, serious health problems resulted from obesity are too complicated to cure and they will inevitably remain a dilemma with children until adulthood. Secondly, being overweight has been proven to reduce human's productivity and brain power. This is detrimental to children in particular because their brains are developing at this age. As can be predicted, obese students are likely to have trouble understanding subjects at school and get poor grades.

In conclusion, the increasing number of fat children in Western areas stems from regular consumption of junk food and low level of exercises. Actions must be taken to prevent severe damage in terms of children's health and academic performances.