The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years.

Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

Childhood obesity is a serious medical condition that affects children. The percentage of obesity among children has climbed in western society, by almost fifth in last ten years. This essay will argue the causes and effects of over increased weight around children.

The variety of causes have contributed to the boom in rates of overweight attributed to changes in our way of life. Starting with young children, who eat candies and deserts, have become overweight because of sugar and preservatives. Slowly, they are dying by eating unhealthy food, which contain preservatives and hydrogenated oil, such as Mcdonald’s and Kentucky. More over, children who don’t exercise are more likely to gain much weight, as well as children who spent too much time in sedentary activities, such as watching television or playing video games. Furthermore, society and family stress can increase a child’s risk of obesity. If a child comes from a family of overweight people, the child may be more likely to be overweight.

This increase of obesity around children has far-reaching effect on both sides, individual and societal level. Being overweight has been linked with higher mortality and illness rates. Children, who suffer from unhealthy overweight, known to have high blood pressure and heart diseases. Children are the heart of society, with more children reaching obesity levels means a stain on our economy is created. Increased illness means students are taking more sick leave, thereby less educated children, thus less future employees.

In conclusion, sedentary lifestyle, lack of exercises and unhealthy food leds children and countries to hell. More specifically, health system won’t be able to accommodate all this number of sick children.